Friday, October 24, 2014

The 21 Stages of Meditation

Date: November 1-3 & 7-9
Time: 8am-5pm
Location: 2308 N Richland St, Phoenix AZ, 85006
Cost: All 3 journeys - $1320 (including lunch, tea & snacks)
         1 journey - $500 (including lunch, tea & snacks)

Register at 
Whether you are a Kudalini Yoga teacher, a student or someone with an interest in meditation, you can take this course to dive deeper in to the art and science of meditation.

What are the 21 Stages of meditation? The 21 Stages of Meditation describes the different experience that one goes through during meditation. Learning about the 21 Stages of Meditation can help one to identify one’s strengths and weaknesses and what one can do to progress to the next stage and toward understanding one’s Self.

The 21 Stages of Meditation is divided into 3 journeys.

First Journey: The Crystallized Self
The focus of the first journey is to recognize, experience and crystallize the Self. The blocks are encountered in the first four stages: upset, boredom, irritation and frustration. The first ascent starts when we have a sense of our Self, separate from all the commotions, emotions and sensory impulses; we begin to focus and recognize a still point, a nucleus within, which is the Self. It is this crystallized sense of Self that is needed in order for consciousness to work.

·         Stage 1 – Upset
·         Stage 2 – Boredom
·         Stage 3 – Irritation
·         Stage 4 - Frustration
·         Stage 5 – Focus
·         Stage 6 – Absorption
·         Stage 7 – Experience and Crystallize the Self

Second Journey: The Expressive Self
In this second journey, the initial challenge is to develop a sensitivity to the Self, as we engage in relationships and participate in life. When we take the seed of our Self and our identity and project it into the world, it expands. In this second journey, we cultivate the meditative skill to merge with our projection yet still be able to distill our Self from the various roles we play; in this way, this second journey prepares us to maintain our integrity in action and ultimately to find the stillness within every action.

·         Stage 8 – Rasa
·         Stage 9 – Delight
·         Stage 10 – Politeness
·         Stage 11 – Humility
·         Stage 12 – Elevation
·         Stage 13 - Graceful Enlightenment
·         Stage 14 – Express and Be Your Self

Third Journey: The Transcendent Self
In this final journey, we recognize all that we are as the formless presence of the infinite Self. We open the dimension of our Transcendent Self. This journey requires us to go beyond differences and similarities
into reality and unity. By forging an elevated identity with our infinite Self within our finite self, we become spontaneous, creative and flexible. We excel in this infinite game of the soul. Love, compassion and kindness become the core of our experience. At the peak of this journey we become the nothing within the center of all that is. Mystery is now mastery. The sacred space opens up to intuitive presence, which serves innocence, loves life, blesses all, and praises the Infinite, the all within All. You become you, nothing more, nothing less. In this final journey, we become realized human beings.

·         Stage 15 - Presence Like a Beacon
·         Stage 16 - Everywhere Radiance
·         Stage 17 - Prayerful Stillness
·         Stage 18 – Preacher
·         Stage 19 – Teacher
·         Stage 20 – Sage
·         Stage 21 - Infinite Pulse

"Meditation is a duty toward the self. The moment you become aware of the self, you become beautiful to self because the moment you concentrate on self, your frequency changes and the universe around you changes also. This is a cosmic law." - Yogi Bhajan

(The 21 Stages of Meditation information from

No comments:

Post a Comment